WAKEFIELD — Adam Colantuoni is coming home again, this time to lead the new Galvin Middle School.

Colantuoni, a Wakefield native, was selected from three finalists for the Galvin Middle School principal position by Supt. of Schools Dr. Stephen K. Zrike.

Zrike announce the selection yesterday. Colantuoni will succeed Mark Bedrosian, who will resign at the end of the school year.

Zrike wrote, “As a Wakefield native, Mr. Colantuoni returns to the Galvin Middle School with a passion for his home community and a commitment to providing all students with a dynamic educational experience. He is a career middle school educator with six years of middle school administrative leadership experience.

“Mr. Colantuoni’s career began as a middle school guidance counselor and assistant principal at the Wynn Middle School in Tewksbury. He joined the Galvin Middle School as an assistant principal in 2010 and spent three years establishing strong relationships with students, staff and families. Mr. Colantuoni left the Galvin in 2013 to serve as principal of the Hanover (Mass.) Middle School. There he made an immediate impact building a student centered culture and improving student achievement.”

Colantuoni holds a B.A. in Psychology from Merrimack and an M.A. in School Counseling from Lesley University.

Zrike continued, “Through the interview process, Mr. Colantuoni distinguished himself as an energetic, reflective and collaborative leader who is a fierce advocate for children. He is thrilled to have the opportunity to lead the Galvin and privileged to be serving his hometown.

“I want to extend my gratitude to the interview committee and to those of you who provided input on our finalists. Please join me in welcoming Adam to Wakefield as the newest member of the Warrior family,” Zrike concluded.

The other finalists to succeed Bedrosian were Lynnfield Middle School Assistant Principal Richele Shankland and Dr. Richard Cowdell, the other finalist when Bedrosian was selected Galvin principal in 2012. Until recently, Cowdell was principal of Lynn’s Thurgood Marshall Middle School.