Published February 7, 2019


NORTH READING —Two weeks into the town election season no new candidates have pulled nomination papers. However, one more incumbent has announced that he will not be seeking re-election. He also will be unable to complete the remainder of his term because he is relocating.

Community Planning Commission (CPC) member Jonathan Cody submitted his letter of resignation to the town last Thursday afternoon, January 31.

“Effectively immediately, please accept this letter as notification that due to personal reasons and a relocation, I am resigning from my position as an elected member of the Community Planning Commission. Please let me know if you have any questions or need anything further from me,” he stated.

Cody was elected to the post in May of 2016 and would have completed his first three-year term in May.

In response to this development, the CPC held a special meeting Tuesday night to discuss the vacancy. The board has the option of leaving the post vacant until the May 7 election or appointing someone to fill the unexpired term.

The CPC opted to formally notify the Select Board of Cody’s resignation and the need to set up a joint meeting between the two boards to appoint his replacement in accordance with state law. The motion was passed 3-0 with Christopher Hayden, Ryan Carroll and Bill Bellavance voting in favor. CPC member Warren Pearce was absent.

The Town Administrator’s office is now accepting resumes or letters of interest from candidates interested in being appointed to fill the vacancy until it’s filled by the result of the May 7 town election. Details on how to apply for consideration for appointment to this unexpired term are listed on page 4 of today’s Transcript.

Cody’s seat is one of two up for re-election in 2019. The seat held by incumbent CPC Chairman Warren Pearce is also up for re-election. Pearce has not yet announced his intentions.

As previously announced four candidates have pulled papers to date. They are incumbent School Committee Chairwoman Janene Imbriano (three-year term); incumbent Housing Authority member James DeCola (five-year term); incumbent Town Moderator John J. Murphy (one-year term) and political newcomer Andrew J. Lee, who is seeking one of two open seats on the Select Board (three-year term). Lee is a 2005 graduate of NRHS and a 2009 graduate of West Point Academy who served in the Middle East and was honorably discharged with the rank of captain after 8 1/2 years of service.

Three long-time public servants announced in January that they are not seeking re-election to their posts — Select Board Chairman Michael Prisco, Select Board member Bob Mauceri and School Committee member Mel Webster.

Elective offices for 2019

Eight seats on four boards plus the town moderator’s seat are up for election this year. The names of incumbents are listed in parentheses. An (*) indicates the incumbent has announced publicly his or her intention not to run for re-election.

• Two seats for three-year terms on the Select Board (*Robert Mauceri and *Michael Prisco);

• One seat for a one-year term for Town Moderator (John Murphy);

• Two seats for three-year terms on the School Committee (Janene Imbriano and *Melvin Webster);

• Two seats for three-year terms on the Community Planning Commission (Warren Pearce and *Jonathan Cody;

• One seat for a five-year term on the Housing Authority (James DeCola).

Election Day is May 7

Election Day is Tuesday, May 7 and the deadline for candidates to return their nomination papers to Town Clerk Barbara Stats’s office is Tuesday, March 19 at 5 p.m. The Town Clerk’s office will remain open an extra hour on the deadline day to accept the nomination papers.

All candidates are required to obtain a minimum of 50 signatures from town residents who are registered to vote in the town of North Reading to be eligible to be included on the ballot. Therefore, Stats always advises candidates to submit more than the minimum number of signatures required because her office is unable to certify signatures that are “duplications, illegible or ineligible.”

Once a candidate is certified as eligible to run for an elective office, the last day that candidate can choose to withdraw his or her name from the ballot is Thursday, April 4 at 5 p.m.

The last day a resident of the town can register to vote to participate in the May 7 annual town election is Wednesday, April 17 at 8 p.m.

Candidates for any municipal office are required to file campaign finance reports on specific dates per the provisions of Mass. General Laws Chapter 55. Those with questions about this process may contact the state’s Office of Campaign and Political Finance for assistance by phone: 617-727-8352, email: [email protected] or visit the website at

For additional assistance the public may also call the Town Clerk’s office at 978-357-5218.