Four former Merchants being inducted in sixth annual event

Published in the October 30, 2015 edition.

STONEHAM — The doors of the Intercity League’s Hall of Fame will swing open for 22 new members on Saturday, Nov. 14 and for four former Wakefield Merchants players. Those players are Steve Coffey, Joe Sarno, Vin Martelli and Kevin Yianacopolus.

Martelli also played for the Hosmer Chiefs.

The inductees will be enshrined at the ICL’s sixth annual Hall of Fame, Awards & Reunion Dinner, which will be held at the Montvale Plaza in Stoneham starting at 6 p.m.

For tickets and event information contact Dinner Chairman Orazio Azzarello at or call 617-839-1488.

Below is the complete list of the 22 new Hall of Famers.



Terrence Butt — Gately Rams

Steve Coffey — Wakefield Merchants

Mike Connolly — Augustine’s A’s

Brian Coughlin — Holovak & Coughlin

Fran DeAngelis — Hosmer Chiefs

Rick DeAngelis — Reading Town Team

Billy Dunn — Hosmer Chiefs, Medford Mustangs & Augustine’s A’s

Joe Gulino — Medford Mustangs

Frankie Lemos — Hosmer Chiefs & Everett City Club

Vin Martelli — Hosmer Chiefs & Wakefield Merchants

Terry McGann — Hosmer Chiefs

Bob Merlina — Melrose Rams

Kevin O’Brien — Hosmer Chiefs, Medford Mustangs & Somerville Elms

Eric Poling — Lexington Blue Sox

Joe Santagate — Andre Chiefs

Joe Sarno — Wakefield Merchants

Jesse Sarzana — Gately Rams

Steve Silvio — Medford Mustangs & Andre Chiefs

Mark Sullivan — Augustine’s A’s & Somerville Red Sox & Elms

Mike Tobin — Lexington Blue Sox

Russell Ward — Somerville Red Sox & Watertown Hibos

Kevin Yianacopolus — Wakefield Merchants