Published in the October 23, 2015 editionacademicachievement_web

WAKEFIELD — The Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education has announced that 64 students from Wakefield Memorial High School’s Class of 2016 were among the Massachusetts students recently awarded the John and Abigail Adams Scholarships. The Adams Scholarship is good for a significant tuition break at any University of Massachusetts campus, any state university (not including Massachusetts College of Art and Design) or community college. This merit-based scholarship program was first proposed by Governor Mitt Romney in his 2004 State of the State address.

Beginning with the Class of 2005, the Adams Scholarship is open to all public school students based on their performance on the spring grade 10 MCAS tests. The students’ MCAS scores must rank in the top 25 percent of their district to qualify. In districts where large numbers of students score in the Advanced/Advanced or Advanced/Proficient categories, there may be some students who score Advanced/Advanced or Advanced/Proficient yet do not qualify for the Adams Scholarship because they are not in the top 25 percent of the district. These students are eligible to apply for the Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery, which also provides a tuition waiver to state colleges and universities to successful applicants. All Wakefield Class of 2016 students who are eligible for the Koplik Certificate have received applications by mail from the high school.

To claim the Adams Scholarship, the recipients must apply for and gain admission to a Massachusetts public college beginning in the fall of 2016. They must also complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and supply the college of choice with a copy of their Adams award letter. Students who accept the Adams scholarship must complete their college program in four years or less and maintain a 3.0 grade point average. The scholarship does not cover fees or room and board.

Secretary of Education James Peyser wrote in the congratulatory letter to each recipient his “best wishes for your continued success in college and beyond. You have made your community and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts proud.”

Following is the list of Adams scholars.

Thomas Alden, Akash Altman, Alessandra Amatucci, Danielle Benedetto, Jared Blake, Anna-Nicole Bosco, Julianne Bourque, Edward Buckley, Sarah Buckley, Amanda Callahan, Samantha Cardoza, Elizabeth Chaput.

Matthew Cierpial, Zachary Conlon, Isabel Cusack, Adam D’Ambrosio, Sara Dardis, Zachary Dascoli, Alyson Donahue, Jessica Dubuque, Alexandra Ferrucci, Madelyn Fleming, Kaitlyn Foley, Catherine Francis.

Anthony Funicella, Gianna Gebhard, David Goss, Evan Gourville, Sarah Grady, Taylor Guarino, Madison Guay, Alexander Guerriero, Julianna Hardiman, David Holman, Grace Hurley, Jonathan Ingalls, Gabrielle Joly, Kyle Livingston.

Erin Lucey, Stephen Marino, David McArthur, Paul McGunigle, Kyle McLaughlin, Reilly McNamara, Matthew Mercurio, Jonathan Miller, Caitlin Mogan, Michael Moran, Sarah Nasser, Averi Parece, Jared Regan.

Taylor Shannon, Madeline Shea, Emily Sheeran, Christopher Skeldon, Olivia Spiers, Sarah Stumpf, Zackery Thomas, Catherine Urbano, Jessica Vinciguerra, Mikayla White, Senila Yasmin, Kady Yip, Kristy Yip.