THE 2022 LAA 4th of July Road Race had 247 runners compete on a beautiful 4th in Lynnfield. (Heather Dreher Photo)


LYNNFIELD — After canceling in 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic, the 55th annual Lynnfield Athletic Association Fourth of July 5k (3.1 mile) Road Race made its return last week under sunny skies and temperatures in the low 80’s.

There were 247 runners competing in the event.

The men’s winner was Thad Sanderson as the 20-year old finished with a time of 17:28. Patrick Walsh was second (18:59) while Andrew Weeks was third (19:08).

Walsh had the best time for any Lynnfield resident as Sanderson is from New Jersey.

Julia Hincman-Francavilla was the women’s champion as the 39-year old had a winning time of 20:18. Lynn Winans was second (20:57) and Rachel Starr was third (21:03).

Starr had the best finish by any Lynnfield woman.

“After a two-year hiatus, it was wonderful to see the hundreds of participants join us to celebrate this great community event,” said Michelle DeLuties and Heather Dreher, who are co-presidents of the Lynnfield Athletic Association. “We are grateful to Susie Cleary and her team, our generous sponsors and the many volunteers who help to make the morning a success. Congratulations to all the runners. We look forward to next year.”

There were 54 medals presented to the top three finishers in each age group.

In the 10 and younger male group, Layton Divigillo was first (25.47) followed by Nico Bello (31.01) and Sebastian Hansen (31.14).

For the 11-14 group, Michael Barrett won (25.11) followed by Matt Starr (25.59) and Dan Moriarty 26.15).

Jake Martinho was first in the 15-19 age group at 24.07. Anthony Attubato was second (25.15) and Jack Digangi placed third (25:18). They were the top three Lynnfield High boys’ runners.

Sanderson, Walsh and Weeks were the top three also in their 20-29 age group.

In the30-39 age group, Garrett McNeill was first (20:35) followed by Scott Fitzmeyer (21:23) and Chris George (22:08).

Sean Sullivan was the first male in the 40-49 year old group at 19:16. Chris Hancock was second 19:47) and Joel Beal was third (19:55).

Chuck Connell had the best male time in the 50-59 age group at 22:18. Frank Barbieri was second (23:57) and Mark Ellis was third (24:22).

In the 60-69-year old age group, Bob Dominguez was first (22:20) followed by Tom Ackerman (23:47) and Richard Tabbut (25:33).

In the women’s race, Lucy Hansen was first in the 10 and under group at 31:17. Melania Divirgillo was second (33:02) and Eliana Georges was third (38:51).

Kaylee Barrett was first in the 11-14-year old group at 23:42 and she was third in the top three girls for Lynnfield High. Molly Recene was second (27:23) and Charlotte Migliere captured third (27:59).

Rachel Starr, who was third overall, was first in the 15-19-year old group at 21:03. Madison Daigle, who had the best Lynnfield High girls’ time, was second (21:38) and Sophia Dinanno, who was second for the Lynnfield High girls, was third (22:33).

Callie Trombley placed first in the 20-29 age group at 23:44. Grace MacDonald was second 926:27) and Mary Larovere was third (30:56).

After Hincman-Francavilla, Danielle Gianatassio was second in the 30-39-year old group at 22:27 while Kristin Jinks was third (24:53).

In the 40-49-year old ages, Kristen Dorsky was first at 21:28. Katherine Kulig was second (21:59) while Ceara Mahoney placed third (22:15).

Andrea Braconnier was first in the 50-59-year old age group at 23:48. Rigina Curran was second (28.22) and Holly Allison was third (29.37).

Winans, who was second overall, was first in the 60-69-year olds while Carol Nicholas was second at 32.22. Jean Forti was third at 34.49.

Sanderson and Hincman-Francavilla both received trophy’s and $25 gift cards from Dick’s Sporting Goods. Daigle and Martinho, meanwhile, both got trophies for the best Lynnfield High finishers.

The LAA also wanted to thank all of the sponsors for this year’s race: Wakefield Cooperative Bank, Moynihan Lumber, Beth Israel Lahey Health, A Healthy Lynnfield, The YMCA Metro North, Littlefield Real Estate, Salem Five, Supino Insurance Agency, Eastern Bank and North Shore Bank.