Published in the September 5, 2018 edition

WAKEFIELD — Local voters in yesterday’s Democratic primary backed Melrose Democratic City Committee leader Samantha Hammar over incumbent Jason Lewis for State Senate, the only real surprise other than the relatively healthy turnout on the day following an end-of-summer holiday.

More than 4,100 of Wakefield’s 18,654 registered voters cast ballots in the primaries held at the Galvin Middle School, where centralized voting appears to keep getting easier.

While Hammar defeated Lewis here (1,226 to 1,180) and in Melrose (2,461 to 1,642), the Associated Press earlier today had the incumbent liberal Democrat from Winchester holding on district-wide for the right to meet Republican challenger Erin Calvo-Bacci of Reading in the November 6 general election.

On a beautiful, if warm, late summer day, Wakefieldians who filled out Democratic ballots picked unopposed incumbent Elizabeth Warren to go forward to November in the race for U.S. Senate. She received 2,158 votes, with 64 write-ins and 397 blanks.

Democrat Jay M. Gonzalez will challenge for Governor, getting 1,223 votes to Bob Massie’s 836.

Quentin Palfrey beat comedian and commentator Jimmy Tingle in the Democratic race for Lieutenant Governor, 1,163 to 902.

Incumbent Attorney General Maura Healey got 2,266 votes in Wakefield. She was unopposed.

Incumbent Secretary of State William F. Galvin received 1,830 votes to Josh Zakim’s 705.

Incumbent Deborah B. Goldberg received 1,987 votes for Treasurer, which included 621 blanks and 11 write-ins.

Unopposed Auditor Suzanne M. Bump received 1,960 votes, with 659 blanks and 13 write-ins.

Incumbent Democratic U.S. Congressman Seth Moulton of Marblehead received 2,282 votes.

Terrence W. Kennedy received 1,933 votes for Governor’s Councillor

Unopposed Democratic State Representative Paul Brodeur of Melrose collected 975 votes in Precincts 4 through 6, while Democrat Matthew Crescenzo of Saugus received 962 for State Representative in Precincts 1, 2, 3 and 7.

Incumbent Middlesex District Attorney Marian T. Ryan outlasted challenger Donna Patalano, 1,227 to 1,110.

Michael E. Sullivan received 1,927 votes for Clerk of Courts, while 1,917 voted for Maria C. Curtatone for Register of Deeds.

In the Republican primary in Wakefield, Geoff Diehl’s 894 votes for U.S. Senate bested both John Kingston and Beth Lindstrom.

Incumbent Governor Charlie Baker defeated Scott Lively in Wakefield 850 votes to 644.

Incumbent Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito received 1,021 votes.

James R. McMahon III beat Daniel L. Shores for the right to represent his party in the race for  Attorney General, 666 to 501.

Anthony M. Amore received 973 votes for Secretary of State.

Keiko M. Orrall received 925 votes for Treasurer.

Helen Brady received 919 for Auditor.

Joseph S. Schneider received 950 votes for U.S. Congress.

Erin K. Calvo-Bacci received 971 votes or State Senate.

Republicans also chose incumbent State Representative Donald H. Wong in the 9th Essex District (Precincts 1, 2, 3 and 7), giving him 702 votes.

The Republicans fielded no candidates for Governor’s Councillor, State Representative in Precincts 4 through 6 (Brodeur’s district), District Attorney, Clerk of Courts or Register of Deeds.