Published December 18, 2019

THE AWARD WINNERS for the 2019 Wakefield football team are, from left, Joe Alden (Bob Connors Memorial Award for Most Improved), Chris Miller (Michael Magliozzi Memorial Coaches Award), Liam Cosgrove (Warrior Award/All-Conference), Joe Bernabeo (Bunty Thakkar Unsung Hero Award), Anthony DeVito (Leadership Award/Jason Farrell Memorial Scholarship) and Taaj Andrews (All-Conference). (Sharon Nikosey Photo)

WAKEFIELD — The Wakefield Memorial High School football team held their annual banquet recently where they celebrated a season in which the Warriors finished 6-5 overall and third in the Middlesex League’s Freedom Division.

It was a big step forward for the Warriors in year two for head coach John Rafferty. Coming off a 3-8 season in which they missed the playoffs, Wakefield picked up key wins over Belmont, Burlington, Watertown and Wilmington on their way to a No. 6 seed in the Div. 4 North Tournament. The Warriors were knocked out by Wayland but responded with victories over Dracut and North Reading before falling to eventual undefeated Super Bowl champion Melrose.

THE 2019 All-Stars, pictured at the banquet from left to right, are Liam Cosgrove, Tucker Stikeman, Aidan Sweeney, Anthony DeVito, Danny Hurley and Taaj Andrews. (Sharon Nikosey Photo)

Wakefield distributed team awards, congratulated their All-Stars, thanked their seniors and announced the captains for next season.

Senior captain Chris Miller received the Michael Magliozzi Memorial Coaches Award, senior captain Anthony DeVito received the Leadership Award and the Jason Farrell Memorial Scholarship, senior captain Liam Cosgrove received the Warrior Award, senior Joe Alden received the Bob Connors Memorial Award for Most Improved and senior Joe Bernebeo earned the Bunty Thanker Unsung Hero Award.

SENIORS Liam Cosgrove and Taaj Andrews, who were named to the 2019 Middlesex League All-Conference team, display their awards at the banquet. Andrews made the list as a defensive tackle while Cosgrove made it as an offensive tackle. (Sharon Nikosey Photo)

The 2019 Middlesex League All-Stars for the Warriors were Cosgrove, DeVito, senior Taaj Andrews, junior Danny Hurley, junior Tucker Stikeman and sophomore Aidan Sweeney. Andrews and Cosgrove were also named to the Middlesex League’s All-Conference team.

The captains for next season will be classmates Danny Hurley and Tucker Stikeman.

Wakefield said goodbye to a talented and dedicated group of seniors including Cosgrove, DeVito, Miller, Andrews, Alden, Bernabeo, Wesley Pierre, Jake Sowyrda, Sean Lynch, Eli Gosselin-Smoske, Jamie Poole and Jovanni Teixeira. Together, they helped turn a rebuilding season into the program’s first winning campaign since 2013.