Freedom division champion Warriors have 13 all-stars named


THE WMHS boys’ indoor track team had a historic 2016-17 season. The Warriors captured their second Middlesex League Freedom division championship in three years, finished second at the Div. 4 State Relays, and placed second in the Div. 4 Meet, their best finish in a state meet in nearly 50 years. (Donna Larsson Photo)

Published in the March 22, 2017 edition

WAKEFIELD — The Middlesex League boys’ indoor track coaches met recently to make this year’s selections in the Freedom division.

For league champion Wakefield, it had 13 all-stars chosen with eight individuals and five members of a relay team.

The individual Warriors chosen were senior Nick McGee (mile), Adam Roberto (1000 meter run), senior Ryan Sullivan (600 meter run), Dan Summers (300 meter run), senior Dan Sallade (dash), junior Matt Greatorex (two mile), junior Pat Redmond (shot put), and senior Cole Mottl (shot put).

Wakefield also had its 4×400 relay team selected. The five runners in that event were Summers, senior TJ Sellers, sophomore Brian Smith, Roberto, and Sullivan.

M.L. Freedom division runner-up Burlington was next with eight individual selections.

Melrose had four all-stars named along with the league MVP.

Stoneham had three all-stars chosen, while both Watertown and Wilmington had one.

In the M.L. Liberty division league champion Woburn had the most all-stars with 10 individuals and both relays selected. The Tanners also had one of the Co-MVPs.

Lexington was next with eight all-stars named.

Reading had five all-star selections, while Winchester had four. Belmont had two all-stars chosen along with one of the Co-MVPs, while Arlington had one all-star.




Freedom Division

Mile — Nick McGee, Wakefield, Sr.; Kevin Wheelock, Melrose, Sr.; Rishabh Prakash, Burlington, So.

1000 — Sean Conlon, Melrose, Sr.; Adam Roberto, Wakefield, Sr.

600 — Ben Margalit, Burlington, Sr.; Ryan Sullivan, Wakefield, Sr.; Anthony Magazzu, Stoneham, Junior

300 — Ben Piotti, Burlington, Sr.; Dan Summers, Wakefield, Sr.

Hurdles — Eddie Reis, Burlington, Sr.; Fernando Lamin, Burlington, Sr.

Dash — Mike Pavao, Burlington, Jr.; Mange Camara, Watertown, So.; Dan Sallade, Wakefield, Sr.

Two Mile — Jake Luongo, Stoneham, Jr.; Adam Cook, Melrose, Sr.; Matt Greatorex, Wakefield, Jr.

Shot Put — Patrick Redmond, Wakefield, Jr.; Cole Mottl, Wakefield, Sr.; Nick Gorham, Wilmington, Sr.

High Jump — Fernando Lamin, Burlington, Sr.; Ed Reis, Burlington, Sr.; Nick Chan, Melrose, Sr.

4×400 Relay — Wakefield (Dan Summers, TJ Sellers, Brian Smith, Adam Roberto, Ryan Sullivan)

Long Jump — Mike Reilly, Stoneham, Jr.

MVP — Kevin Wheelock, Melrose, Sr.


Liberty Division

Dash — Noah Shute, Lexington, Sr.; Marcus Qualls, Woburn, So.; Alex Hiser, Lexington, So.

300 — Jack Geiger, Reading, Jr.; Bryan Huang, Belmont, Jr.; Lucas Honohan, Lexington, Jr.; Sean Lu, Winchester, Sr.

600 — Calvin Perkins, Belmont, Jr.; Jake Bridge, Woburn, Sr.; Kevin Hoyt, Reading, Sr.

1000 — Tom Lingard, Lexington, Jr.; Matt Stevens, Lexington, Jr.; Mark Swymer, Woburn, Jr.

Mile — Jack Wiseman, Winchester, Sr.; Andrew Riffe, Reading, So.; Andrew Yatsuhashi, Reading, Jr.

Two Mile — Anshel Isles, Woburn, So.; Ryan Oosting, Arlington, So.; Eli Gappelberg, Lexington, So.

Hurdles — Jacob Casey, Woburn, Jr.; Brendan Tumwesigye, Woburn, Jr.; Elisha George, Woburn, Jr.

High Jump — Nic Romeo, Woburn, Sr.; Tom Chin, Lexington, Sr.; Nathan Li, Winchester, Sr.

Shot Put — Travis Hunt, Woburn, Sr.; Mark Porter, Reading, Senior; Chris Decaro, Winchester, Jr.

Long Jump — Sebastian Labissiere, Woburn, Sr.; Kazu Uad-Thach, Lexington, So.

4×400 Relay — Woburn (Marcus Qualls, Jake Bridge, Brendan Tumwesigye, Tracy Kalungi)

4×200 Relay — Woburn (Marcus Qualls, Jake Bridge, Nic Romeo, Ayrton Zargani)

Co-MVPs — Jake Bridge, Woburn; Calvin Perkins, Belmont