Freedom division champs led all teams in balloting



Published in the July 1, 2015

WAKEFIELD — The Middlesex League baseball coaches met recently to make this year’s all-star selections in the Freedom and Liberty divisions.

For the M.L. Freedom division champion Warriors, that meant five all-stars and the league MVP. Wakefield, which won its first league title since 1989, has the most selections of any team in both the Freedom and Liberty divisions.

The five Warriors chosen included seniors Anthony Cecere and Shawn Smeglin and juniors Matt Mercurio, Andrew Auld and Corey Imbriano.

Cecere was honored as an all-star outfielder, Smeglin and Imbriano were all-star infielders at second base and shortstop, Auld was an all-star pitcher and Mercurio was honored at catcher. Mercurio was also named the Freedom division MVP.

Melrose and Wilmington were next in the Freedom division with three selections apiece, while Burlington and Watertown each had two players named.

Liberty division champion Lexington led the way with four all-stars in its division. Arlington and Winchester were next with three all-stars each. Belmont and Reading each had two all-stars chosen and Woburn had one. Belmont had the Liberty division MVP as well.



Freedom Division

Player     School     Year     Pos.

Shane O’Halloran     Burlington     Jr.     C

Justin Hurley     Burlington     So.     P

Jack Hickey     Melrose     Sr.     3B

Jake Karelas     Melrose     Sr.     C

Dylan Gaita     Melrose     Sr.     P

Matt Mercurio     Wakefield     Jr.     C

Andrew Auld     Wakefield     Jr.     P

Anthony Cecere     Wakefield     Sr.     OF

Corey Imbriano     Wakefield     Jr.     SS

Shawn Smeglin     Wakefield     Sr.     2B

Kyle Foley     Watertown     Jr.     1B

Brendan Berkeley     Watertown     Sr.     SS

James Hill     Wilmington     Sr.     1B

Jackson Gillis     Wilmington     Jr.     P

Graham Smith     Wilmington     Fr.     CF

MVP — Matt Mercurio, Wakefield, Jr.


Liberty Division

Player     School     Year     Pos.

Collin Bailey-Healy     Arlington     Sr.     P

Ryan Hood     Arlington     Sr.     SS

Will Martin     Arlington     Sr.     C

Cole Bartels     Belmont     Jr.     P/SS

Cal Christofori     Belmont     So.     P/C

Connor Murphy     Lexington     Sr.     OF

Jeff Costello     Lexington     Jr.     P/OF

Mark Jones     Lexington     Jr.     P

Nico Frelick     Lexington     So.     C

Pat Jordan     Reading     Jr.     P/C

Connor Mulligan     Reading     So.     OF/P

Warren Asdornvuttikrai     Winchester     Sr.     C

Stephen Michienzi     Winchester     Sr.     CF/P

Tim O’Brien     Winchester     Sr.     2B

Anthony Carter     Woburn     Sr.     P/OF

MVP — Cole Bartels, Belmont, Jr.