LNR WRESTLERS, from left, Cam Arya, James Fodera and David Glynn were elected captains for the 2024-2025 season during the recent end-of-the-season banquet. (Courtesy Photo)




LYNNFIELD — The Lynnfield-North Reading co-op wrestling team recently celebrated the grapplers’ individual and collective accomplishments on and off the mat during the end-of-the-season banquet.

LNR head coach Craig Stone recalled that the Black and Gold finished the 2023-2024 season with a 13-11-1 dual meet record.

“After suffering through two seasons with a lack of numbers since COVID, the Black and Gold were able to cover 13 of the 14 weight classes with 19 team members this season,” said Stone. “That, combined with a returning nucleus of experienced wrestlers, the addition of wrestlers with previous experience and a recruiting effort from the returning wrestlers as well, LNR finished with a 13-11-1 dual meet record.”

Stone presented several awards during the banquet. Captain James Fodera, captain David Glynn, junior Cam Arya, freshman Nathan Barstow, sophomore Jack Cuddy, freshman Sam Bird, freshman Jakob Hulett, freshman Jason Kouyoumdjian, junior Issac Medford and sophomore Zackary Morse were given Iron Man Awards.

There were also several individual awards presented during the banquet. Fodera was given the Most Wins, Most Points, Most Takedowns, 100-Point Club and Outstanding Achievement Awards. Arya was presented with the Most Pins, Most Improved and 90-Point Club Awards. Barstow was given the 100-Point Club Award. Bird was the recipient of the Most Improved and 70-Point Club Awards. Jack Cuddy received the Most Desire Award.

Glynn received the Coaches’ Award. Senior Matt Howell was presented with the Senior Award. Hulett was given the 90-Point Club Award. Senior Gavin Iby was the recipient of the Fastest Pin, Outstanding Achievement and Senior Awards. Freshman Zachary Inafuku received the John O’Donnell Team Spirit Award. Kouyoumdjian was the recipient of the Unsung Hero and and 70-Point Club Awards. Medford received the Most Desire Award. Sophomore Dylan Matthews was given the 70-Point Club Award.

Stone said Barstow, Hulett, Fodera, Glynn and Kouyoumdjian were named Cape Ann League All-Stars this year.

Barstow, Bird, Hulett, Kouyoumdjian, Inafuku, Drew Cuddy and Ephram Donahue were the freshmen who received varsity letters. The sophomores who received varsity letters were Glynn, Morse and Jack Cuddy. Arya, Fodera, Medford and Oliver Ventolieri were the juniors who received varsity letters. Iby and Howell were the two seniors who received varsity letters.

Freshman Xander Janicki and junior Ryan Labb were given JV certificates.

Stone said he is incredibly proud of the Black and Gold’s accomplishments this season.

“LNR continued to showcase their talent at tournaments, placing higher as a team and placing more individual wrestlers than the previous year with five at the Anthony Lisitano Tournament in Wakefield, two at the Pentucket Holiday Classic, nine at the Cohasset Tournament, six at the Cape Ann League/Northeastern Conference Tournament, eight at the Division 3 North Sectional Tournament, four at the Division 3 State Tournament and one at the All-State Tournament,” said Stone.

Arya, Glynn and Fodera were elected captains for the 2024-25 season.

“With 17 wrestlers returning next season, LNR’s upward trend should be even more evident in the 2024-2025 season,” said Stone.