Published in the November 30, 2020 edition.

WAKEFIELD — The Middlesex League’s boys’ cross country coaches met recently to vote on All-Stars for the 2020 season. Six Wakefield Warriors were named to the Freedom Division All-Star team: senior captain Jonathan D’Ambrosio, senior Colin Rudy, junior Thomas Dowd, junior Ajay Haridasse, sophomore Leith Jones and sophomore Ben Stratton. 

The Warriors won their fifth consecutive Middlesex League Freedom Division title this season as they went undefeated at 4-0. 

Wakefield led the way in the Freedom with six All-Stars named. Burlington was next with four, followed by two from Melrose, one from Stoneham and one from Wilmington. 

Burlington senior James Johnson was named MVP. 

All six All-Stars played a big role in Wakefield’s championship-clinching win over Burlington in the last meet of the season on Nov. 14. Stratton took second overall behind Johnson and D’Ambrosio took 3rd. Dowd got 6th, Jones took 8th and Haridasse and Rudy both placed in the top 10 to help give the Warriors the win. 

Three of the All-Stars experienced the thrill of taking first overall this season. D’Ambrosio won the Melrose race, Haridasse was first against Stoneham and Stratton got first against Watertown. 

D’Ambrosio finished top six overall in all four races, taking a 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 6th. 

Stratton brought home a 1st, 2nd and 3rd. 

Haridasse got a 1st, 4th, 6th and 9th. 

Dowd got a 3rd, 5th, 6th and 7th.

Rudy got a 3rd, 6th 8th and 10th.

Jones got two 5th’s, a 7th and an 8th.

In the Liberty Division, Arlington, Lexington, Reading and Woburn led the way with three All-Stars each. Winchester and Belmont each had one.