Published May 16, 2019


NORTH READING —Scott Buckley was unanimously voted in as chairman of the School Committee Monday night.

Following the May 7 town election, the committee reorganized its officers and welcomed new member Chris Pappavaselio, who was elected to fill Mel Webster’s vacant seat.

Once elected chairman, Buckley entertained nominations for the remaining officer positions of vice chair, secretary, and legislative representative.

The committee voted unanimously to elect Janene Imbriano as vice chairwoman, Pappavaselio as secretary, and Dyana Boutwell as legislative representative.

In addition to the officer positions, School Committee members reorganized the subcommittee assignments.

Buckley stated that the Finance Planning Team is typically assigned to the chair and vice chair, so he and Imbriano will continue to be the representatives for that subcommittee.

In keeping with tradition, the newest member of the committee, Pappavaselio, was assigned to the Policy Subcommittee. Committee member Rich McGowan decided to remain on this subcommittee as well.

The newly formed Fine Arts Subcommittee was a popular choice among the committee members, but McGowan and Pappavaselio were ultimately assigned.

Other subcommittees include Athletics, which was assigned to Imbriano and Boutwell; Evaluation, assigned to Pappavaselio and McGowan; Budget and Finance, assigned to Buckley and Boutwell; Contracts, assigned to Buckley and Boutwell; NORCAM Advisory Board, assigned to McGowan; Substance Abuse Coalition, assigned to Imbriano; and Capital Improvements, assigned to Boutwell.